DPL-3: Goldens through to playoffs, Stars eliminated


Kathmandu Goldens earned the playoffs berth, while defending champions Dhangadhi Stars were eliminated after both the matches of the Ruslan Dhangadhi Premier League were washed out here at the proposed Fapla International Stadium today.

Kathmandu Goldens were scheduled to play against Biratnagar Kings, while the Stars were up against Mahendranagar United in the day’s double header. But the adverse weather condition and wet outfield meant the organisers were forced to abandon both the matches without a ball being bowled. All four teams earned one point each.

The Goldens, who had won their previous two matches, accumulated five points from three matches and earned one of the four playoffs berths, while three teams — CYC Attariya, Rupandehi Challengers and Biratnagar Kings — have four points each and they are second, third and fourth respectively on net run rate.

United, who lost two games and shared points in two other matches, are alive with two points but their chances to make it to the playoffs are bleak with the net run rate of -0.225. Defending champions Dhangadhi Stars, who changed their name from Team Dhangadhi Chauraha, have one point from four matches and are out of the race.

This is the third time the tournament was hit by weather. The organisers, Dhangadhi Cricket Academy, postponed the tournament by two days because of the rain starting the event on Monday, while the match between Mahendranagar United and Biratnagar Kings was abandoned after 18.3 overs on Thursday.

On Sunday, CYC Attariya are scheduled to play against Mahendranagar United, while the Kathmandu Goldens will face Rupandehi Challengers.

After the league round, top four will make it to the playoffs. Top two will fight in Qualifier1 for a place in the final, while other two will meet in the Eliminator. The winners of Eliminator will face the losing team of Qualifier1 to decide the second team in final. The final is slated for February 23.

The DCA has announced the prize money of three millon rupees to the winners of the tournament making it the biggest cricketing event in terms of prize money. The runners-up will get Rs 1.2 million, while the third and fourth placed teams will earn Rs 400,000 and Rs 200,000 respectively. Likewise, the most valuable player will be awarded with Golden Spike Shoe from Gold Star.

Please Leave your a Comments