APF Club beat New Diamond in PM International Women’s Volleyball Tournament final


Nepal APF Club defeated Shivam New Diamond Academy in a five-set thriller to win the title of the fifth Prime Minister Cup International Women’s Volleyball Tournament here at the Nepalgunj Stadium courts yesterday.

In the final match, NDA took the first set 25-12 before APF bounced back to win the next two sets 25-21, 25-16. NDA levelled the scores at 2-2 when they claimed the fourth set 25-21 pushing the match to deciding fifth and final set. In a thrilling finish, APF won 19-17 to seal the victory.

APF’s Saraswoti Chaudhary contributed 36 points and Nebika Chaudhary added 21 points, while NDA’s Pratibha Mali scored 54 points and Manju Gurung collected 18 points.

Nepal Police Club defeated Ifad Women’s Volleyball Club of Bangladesh to finish third. Top three teams received Rs 200,000, Rs 100,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively. Similarly, APF’s Saraswoti Chaudhary was named the best player of the tournament, while her teammates Nebika Chaudhary and Hira KC were declared the best server and blocker respectively.

NDA’s Pratibha Mali was named the best spiker’s award, while her teammates Salina Shrestha and KripaAdhikari were adjudged the best libero and setter respectively.

National Sports Council Member Secretary Keshab Kumar Bista among others handed over the prizes to the winners. A total six teams competed in the event organised by Banke District Volleyball Association.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here